The Half Moon Battery gives the castle its unique profile and is a wonderful place to stand and view the city and far beyond.
The Half Moon Battery allowed cannons to fire down on the castle approaches.
Today’s cannons are 18-pounders made in 1810 during the Napoleonic Wars. It was originally defended by the Seven Sisters, bronze guns cast in the castle for James IV in about 1500.
Hidden inside is a secret – it was built around the ruins of the huge medieval David’s Tower.
David’s Tower was begun in 1367-8 by David II but came crashing down during the Lang Siege of 1571-3.
The Half Moon Battery is on the eastern side of the castle, overlooking the main entrance.